Inspired by the good folk at #LTHEchat

By @simonrae

I begin this new blog with a BIG thanks to all the great tweeters and nice folk @LTHEchat, who participate in regular tweetchat sessions on Wednesdays, 8pm. Last night’s theme was on ‘blogging’ (see the Storify thread). For me, it finally confirmed in my mind that I need to get back on the proverbial horse, and start up a personal blog again.

I have been an occasional blogger in the past. Perhaps like many, I have several aborted

accounted which never amounted to anything. They lacked a purpose, a clear identity for me as the writer, and definitely any momentum.

This is not to say that I’m not a fan. I am. I have tried, but failed. More recently, I have moved from working in Higher Education into the private sector. I’ve initiated a team blog to get a collection of perspectives from across the company consultants, developers and senior managers (see: http://www.pebblepad.co.uk/l/blog.aspx) I still work amongst the same people, covering the same topics, but from the ‘other side of the fence’. This caused me to hesitate about how to write a personal blog as an employee from a ‘supplier’ perspective (or rather the ‘evil vendor’).

I am sure I shall return to this in the coming months, as I seek to express my thoughts on the current state of learning and teaching across the different business sectors. I also hope to use this blog to reflect on new stories, new tech, new issues, and pretty much anything that gets my attention.

I hope you enjoy it !

Leave a Reply

